Darmstadt Science Declaration

We, the signatories, are people of different national origins, creeds and convictions.

We all firmly believe that human progress is deeply linked to further advances in science and technology. We are truly convinced that science is a force for good which enables us to solve many of mankind’s most pressing challenges. We believe that huge opportunities will arise from future science and technology efforts. Yet we are also very well aware of the responsibility and accountability we bear for the new technologies that are realized.

We call on all nations, societies and organizations to devote more resources to the advancement of science and technology. We encourage the international community to join forces in battling debilitating diseases, ensuring sufficient food for a growing world population, stopping the destruction of our environment, and engaging in joint endeavors to elucidate the secrets this fascinating universe holds.

Nothing shall be impossible.

The Darmstadt Science Declaration was recently described in the Angewandte Chemie (article in English here).

Examples of individuals that signed the Darmstadt Science Declaration:

Jean-Marie Lehn, Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1987

Harald zur Hausen, Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2008

Bruce Beutler, Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2011

James Rothmann, Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, 2013 

Fraser Stoddart, Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2016

Joachim Frank, Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2017

Frances H. Arnold, Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2018

Craig Venter, Founder, Chairman and CEO J. Craig Venter Institute

Daniel Zajfman, President Weizmann Institute of Sciences

Emmanuelle Charpentier, Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology

Thomas Reiter, Astronaut

In total signed by: ~1000


“The Darmstadt Science Declaration is a global call to action to devote more resources to the advancement of science & technology. This will enable humanity to solve the challenges of today and to realize the dreams of a better tomorrow. Everybody is cordially invited to sign this declaration now.

Make Science Not War.”

Conference Lead: Dr. Ulrich Betz, Vice President Innovation, Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, Germany ,